• Tue. Oct 4th, 2022

    The Newly Elected President, Chief Timothy OKOROCHA

    The League of Maritime Editors and Publishers has elected a new executive to pilot the affairs of the association for the next two years.

    The election which was held during the association’s Annual General Meeting held at the Administrative Staff College of Nigeria (ASCON), Topo Badagry, produced Chief Timothy Okorocha as President.

    Okorocha succeeds the former President, Mr Kingsley Anaroke, whose executive came into office in 2018.

    Other officers elected during the AGM were Mr Eddie Iroha as Vice President, Mr Felix Kumuyi – Secretary General, Mazi Tony Ohakwe – Treasurer, Mr. Friday Odoemena – Financial Secretary, Mr. Shola Mekusi – Welfare Officer and Mr. Francis Ugwoke as Public Relations Officer.

    The position of the President was keenly contested between the former Vice President, Mr Shola Fadeyi and Timothy Okorocha who won.

    Similarly, this was the case in the position of the VP which was contested by Chief Okey Iroegbu and Iroha with the latter becoming the winner.

    Mr Funso Olojo, who was the Returning Officer for the election, described the electoral process that produced the new executive as one which was free and fair.

    The former President, Anaroke, while congratulating the new executive advised them to work hard to achieve the objectives of establishing League.

    Anaroke further charged the new executives to pay more attention to the lined-up projects of the association.

    The new president, Chief Timothy Okorocha in his acceptance speech thanked members for reposing such confidence in him that led to his victory.

    Okorocha promised to work hard to keep the spirit, mission and vision of the founding members of League alive.

    Hyacinth Chinweuba

    HYACINTH Chinweuba is a seasoned journalist and Managing Editor of Hybrid News Nigeria.

    Leave a Reply