• Tue. Jul 23rd, 2024

Police Service Commission Elevates 5718 Senior Police Officers In Remarkable Promotion

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has officially sanctioned the promotion of 5718 senior police officers from various categories within the force. These promotions encompass both general duty and specialist cadres, signifying a significant development in the police force’s rank structure.

According to an official statement signed by the Commission’s Head of Press and Public Relations, Ikechukwu Ani noted that 12 diligent Commissioners of Police (CP) have been elevated to the esteemed position of Assistant Inspectors General of Police (AIG). Additionally, 19 Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs) have been promoted to the substantive rank of Commissioners, and 21 Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACPs) have ascended to the rank of Deputy Commissioners. The promotion list extends further, with 31 Chief Superintendents of Police (CSPs) attaining the status of Assistant Commissioners.

In a broad extension of the promotions, 265 Superintendents of Police have advanced to the esteemed rank of Chief Superintendents, while 55 Deputy Superintendents are now recognized as Superintendents. The uplifting news also includes the promotion of 4750 Assistant Superintendents and 146 Assistant Superintendents who were inadvertently omitted during the May 2022 promotion exercise, thereby now occupying the position of Deputy Superintendents.

The specialist cadre was not left untouched, with two Assistant Commissioners of Police from Airwing and Forensic units promoted to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners. Additionally, 47 CSPs, comprising 23 Medical Doctors and 24 Veterinary Doctors, have ascended to the rank of Assistant Commissioners of Police.

Furthermore, one hundred and ninety Superintendents of Police belonging to various units, including Computer Info-Tech, Works, Workshop, Transport, Forensic, Handwriting, Ballistics, Religion, and Veterinary Doctors, have also been recognized and promoted. This extensive promotion list extends to the rank of Deputy Superintendents, with forty-seven Specialist Assistant Superintendents from various units in the force achieving this elevation.

The Chairman of the PSC, in addressing the newly promoted officers, emphasized the need for a new policing culture rooted in a people-friendly approach. He urged them to respect the fundamental rights of citizens and avoid involving themselves in civil matters or fabricating false allegations against the public. Such conduct, he noted, would hinder their ability to gain the trust and cooperation of the public, which is vital in addressing internal security issues.

The Chairman, Dr. Arase, applauded the Inspector General of Police for collaborating with the Commission to ensure widespread promotions throughout the various departments of the force. This is a unique initiative that aims to motivate the workforce and enhance their commitment to addressing crime and criminality effectively.

Dr. Arase reminded the promoted officers that promotions come with benefits and responsibilities. The gesture should serve as motivation to ignite the indomitable fighting spirit for which the police force has been known throughout the years.

While the Commission strives for improved welfare for officers, Dr. Arase emphasized the need for officers to reciprocate by conducting themselves in accordance with established laws and regulations governing the police force. He wished them God’s protection and assured them that their interests would remain a top priority for the Commission.

The promotions involve a comprehensive list of distinguished officers who have earned their advancements through dedication and commitment to their duties. The twelve newly promoted Commissioners of Police to Assistant Inspectors General of Police include noteworthy names such as CP Ogundele Joshua Ayodeji (CP Niger State), CP Patrick Ogon Edung (CP Courses Police Academy Wudil Kano), and CP Bartholomew Nnamdi Onyeka (CP Benue State), among others. The promotions extend further, encompassing DCPs and ACPs who have excelled in their roles and demonstrated exceptional leadership.

Leave a Reply