• Sun. Jan 29th, 2023

    Nigerian Army, Navy Promote Senior Officers To Next Ranks

    ByHyacinth Chinweuba

    Dec 17, 2022

    The Boards of the Nigerian Army (NA), and Nigerian Navy (NN) have approved the promotion of senior military officers, the Nigerian Army (NA) and the Navy (NN) on Friday said a total of 172 senior officers have been promoted to the ranks of Major and Brigadier Generals and its equivalent.

    The services announced the promotion following ratification from their respective councils on December 15.

    A statement by Army spokesman, Brig.-Gen. Onyema Nwachukwu, said that 122 officers comprising 52 Brig.-Gens and 70 Colonels were elevated to their next ranks.

    “While a total of 52 Brigadier Generals were meritoriously promoted to the rank of Major General, 70 colonels were also elevated to the rank of Brigadier General.

    “The Chief of Army Staff, Lieutenant General Faruk Yahaya congratulates all the promoted officers and their families.

    He has also charged them to remain focused, selfless and loyal in their service to the nation to justify the confidence and trust reposed in them by the Commander In Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, President Mohammadu Buhari, the Nigerian Army and indeed all Nigerians,” he said.

    Similarly, Director Naval Information (DINFO), Commodore Adedotun Ayo-Vaughan said 55 senior naval officers comprising 30 Commodores and 25 Captains were promoted to Rear Admiral and Commodore, respectively.

    He said: “The Navy Board on Thursday, 15 December, 2022 approved the promotions of 55 senior officers to various ranks in the Nigerian Navy. Break down of the promotion released showed that 25 Captains were elevated to Commodore while 30 Commodores were promoted to the rank of Rear Admiral.

    “In an earlier approval, 72
    Commanders were promoted to the rank of Captain. The newly promoted Rear Admirals are Garba Abubakar, Adewale Olanrewaju, Fatah Sanusi, Domnan Dangwel, Hamisu Sadiq, Olusanya Bankole, Noel Madugu, Daupreye Matthew, Emmanuel Nmoyem, Clement Atebi, Oluwole Fadeyi, Julius Nwagu, Abdul-Rasheed Haruna, John Okeke, Olatunde Oludude, Sunday Atakpa,
    Abdul-Hamid Baba-Inna, Patrick Effah, Abubakar Mustapha, Chidozie Okehie,
    Olusegun Soyemi, EbioboweiZipele, James Okosun, Ibrahim Shehu, Fredrick
    Damtong, Chijoke Onyemaobi, Kasimu Bushi, Suleiman Abdullahi.

    “Furthermore, Priston Efedue and Jamila Malafa were both promoted to retirement.

    The newly promoted Commodores are Sola Adebayo, Stephen Ega, Mohammed Hassan, Hyacinth Nwaka, Ugochukwu Ajulu, Mohammed Alhassan, Benjamin Francis, Mohammed Manga, AdewaleOdejobi, Humphrey Oriekezie, Tamuno-Kubie Senibo, Toritseju Vincent, Badamasi Yahuza, Kennedy Ozokoye, Igbadi Abechi, Abidemi Abu, Sylvester Earthaogwa, Salisu El-Hussein, Idouye Ketebu, Ogochukwu Ogbologu, Adedotun Ogundiran, Enoch Sogbesan and Daniel Kumangari.

    “Meanhwhile, Lanre Ajibade and Chima Mpi were both promoted to retirement.

    “The Chief of the Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo CFR on behalf of officers, ratings and civilian staff of the Nigerian Navy, rejoices with these newly promoted senior officers and their families and charges them to rededicate
    themselves to their responsibilities, remain loyal to the nation and the
    Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,
    President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR.”

    Hyacinth Chinweuba

    HYACINTH Chinweuba is a seasoned journalist and Managing Editor of Hybrid News Nigeria.

    Leave a Reply