• Tue. Jul 23rd, 2024

Nelas Academy Awards Unveils Nominees List For Its 17th Edition


Nov 24, 2022

Nollywood Excellence and Leadership Awards (NELAS) Academy Awards has unveiled a list of nominees for the 17th edition of the prestigious awards which celebrates personalities who have contributed to the development of humanity.

According to Ambassador Frank Ikegwuonu, the Award Coordinator, The NELAS Academy Awards are presented to encourage and celebrate personalities that expand and enhance the portrayals of the African rich cultural heritage in all forms of global media advocacy and legacy projects.

He said the award is a lifetime testimony of momentous contributions in the human capacity developments, skill acquisitions, entrepreneurial and economic empowerments.

“As the president of the NELAS Academy Awards, I am happy to announce that the 17th Edition of NELAS Academy Awards will take place in London, UK on January 28, 2023.

“The award will honour the individuals who has distinguished themselves using their position of leadership and their environment.

“Founded In 2003 at the artist’s village, National Theatre Lagos, Nollywood Excellence and Leadership Awards also known as the NELAS Academy Awards celebrates personalities in the Nigerian Entertainment industry.

“People whose ideas, whose example and talent is noted to have impacted positively to mankind, especially Africans.” he said.

Ambassador Frank Ikegwuonu a filmmaker, publisher and content creator said the much awaited list had gone through scrutiny by industry experts, researchers’ and prominent personalities appointed to scrutinize the over 160 nominees submitted from 11 countries.

Mr. Ikegwuonu has hosted the NELAS Academy Awards and the Queen of Nollywood honours in Nigeria, Germany, Turkey, United Kingdom and South Africa.

The NELAS Academy Awards collects, preserve, interprete and display pictographic items of artistic and cultural significance for the education of the general public especially fans and critics.

Also, researchers of history is presented annually to nominees as a lifetime testimony of momentous contributions in the human capacity developments, skill acquisitions, entrepreneurial and economic empowerments since the past 17 years.

The prestigious award is presented to Governors, Ministers, Ambassadors, Mayors, first class traditional rulers, international celebrities, inventors, clergies, business moguls and academia.

As a filmmaker, Ambassador Frank Ikegwuonu has produced and directed 52 movies and attended international film related events and festivals in places like Turkey, United Kingdom, Philippines, Russia, South Africa, Egypt, Ukraine, India, amongst others.

Also as content developer, Ambassador Frank Ikegwuonu has produced 113 Episodes of the Queen of Nollywood Series through his Queen of Nollywood Reality project and talent hunts with over 80 HRM Queen of Nollywood titles presented to the most qualified women and celebrities around the world since 2008.

As a publisher, he has published series of internationally acclaimed magazines such as the Who is Who In Nigerian Entertainment industry which received official commendations from the highest level of the Nigerian government including the Presidency, Federal House of Representatives at the National Assembly, Governors of Benue state and Cross River State, the Minister for Information, Minister for Culture and Tourism, Minister for Youth and Sports, Voice of Nigeria, Nigeria Television Authority, the National Library of Nigeria, Actors Guild of Nigeria, Directors Guild of Nigeria, Association of Movies Producers and the National Film and Video Censors Board.

Ambassador Frank Ikegwuonu’s widely acclaimed NELAS Top 100 most influential personalities with over 100,000 copies in circulation worldwide is one of his signature brands published every five years to encourage and celebrate personalities that expand and enhance the portrayals of Nigeria’s rich cultural heritage around the world.

Some of the confirmed nominees includes; Adam Richards, Amb. Ijeoma Teddy Oscar, Ambassador Yvette Philbert, Andrie Van de Nieuwenhof, Andy Boyo and Anu Adebogun.

Others Apostle Moses Ojediran, Babymelody Davies, Blessing Olubanjo, Chief Amb. Ijeoma Ajaelu, Councillor, Thelma Odoi, Daniel O. Famakind. Deaconess Funmilola Omirin and Eugene Ankomah.

Others nominees are; Gladys Mabel Cantelmi, Gogo Anyanwu Jr., H.R.M. Florence Okonkwo, Heidi Kingstone, High Chief Richmond Macgrey, HRM. King Céphas Kosi Bansah, HRM. Princess Adepoju Adeyemi, Hyper Hype, Joyful Praise, Lady Desiree Faust, Lady Nikky Moore, Lady Olga Balakleets, Lady Rita Amalu, Lana Odubela, Lucien Morgan, Mayor. Cllr. Pauline George, Miisz Gracie, Minister Carol Babalola, Nana Slick, Olukunle Fafowora, Pastor Gbolahan Bright (MBE), Pastor Lola Oyebade, Pastor Mrs. Ope Durojaiye, Pastor Tai Durojaiye, Princess Florence Toya, Prof. Dr. Pauline Long, PSA Omoba, Rev. Comfort Owoeye, Rev. Dr. Precious Toe, Rev. Julie Oyebobola, Saro Wiwa, Sir. Olusegun Babalola, Sir. Pessu Jacob, Tim Hudson, Rhoda Wilson, Chiella SCO, Toyin Agbolayah (JP), Yemi Ayetigbo, Judith Osagiobare, Lea Mornar, Joanna Zwierzynska, Evang. Olutayo Olutayo, Bishop Best Agbolayah.

Leave a Reply