• Tue. Jul 23rd, 2024

IGP Kayode Adeolu Egbetokun Decorates Senior Police Officers, Emphasizes Merit-Based Promotions

The Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Kayode Adeolu Egbetokun, Ph.D., NPM, today decorated the newly promoted Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG), Yahaya Sahabo Abubakar, alongside nine Assistant Inspectors General of Police (AIGs) and fifteen Commissioners of Police (CPs) at a ceremony held at the Goodluck Ebele Jonathan Peacekeeping Hall, Force Headquarters, Abuja.

The ceremony marked a significant moment as DIG Sahabo Abubakar and other senior officers received their new ranks in recognition of their dedication and exemplary service to the nation. Among the promoted AIGs were Ahmed Ammani, Dankwara Adamu Mohammed, Mohammed Usaini Gumel, Adebola Ayinde Hamzat, Idegwu Basil Okuoma, Zachariah Fera Achinyan, Zango Ibrahim Baba, Isyaku Mohammed, and Margaret Agebe Ochalla. Similarly, Commissioners of Police including Bassey Samuel Ewah, Osagie John Agans-Irabor, Edem Ita Selong, and Monday Agbonika were also decorated.

In his address, IGP Egbetokun urged the newly promoted officers to uphold the core values of service, sacrifice, and selflessness in the discharge of their duties. He emphasized that their promotions symbolize added responsibilities and trust to continue leading by example within the force.

Furthermore, DIG Dasuki Galadanchi has been posted to the Force Intelligence Department, while DIG Sahabo Abubakar assumes duties at the Department of Research and Planning. Additionally, AIGs and CPs have been strategically posted to various Commands and Formations across the country to enhance operational efficiency.

The IGP sternly warned against any attempts to undermine the merit-based promotion system, emphasizing the importance of integrity and meritocracy in the Nigeria Police Force (NPF). He urged the newly promoted officers to lead with courage and leave a lasting legacy that reflects their commitment to service and professionalism.

The ceremony was attended by distinguished guests including state governors, former governors, members of the National Assembly, and senior police officers both serving and retired. The IGP expressed gratitude to the President of Nigeria and the Police Service Commission for their support in ensuring a transparent and rigorous evaluation process for the promotions.

The event concluded with congratulations to all promoted officers and a commitment from the IGP to further enhance excellence and uphold the NPF’s mandate to protect and serve the Nigerian people.

Hyacinth Beluchukwu Nwafor

Hyacinth Beluchukwu Nwafor is a seasoned journalist and the CEO/Founder Belch Digital Communications, publishers of Hybrid News Nigeria.

Leave a Reply